Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

TITLE: Carry On Image result for carry on book
AUTHOR: Rainbow Rowell
ONE SENTENCE SUMMARY: In this Harry Potter like world, Simon is the chosen one who will save the world of mages, but who also happens to be weirdly obsessed with his roommate, Baz (who might be a vampire).
GENRE: Young Adult | Fantasy | LGBT+
RATING: 4.5/5

If you didn’t already know, Carry On is a fanfiction based on a fictional Harry Potter like series written by a fictional character in Fangirl. In other words it’s a fanfiction of a fictional series in a fictional book… Well, not exactly. Rowell already stated that this is her take on Simon and Baz, not Cath’s.

The fictional series Rowell first created in Fangirl is heavily based on Harry Potter and the Chosen One trope we’re all too familiar with, Carry On is no different. The world of Mages and Watford is like Hogwarts 2.0 but, the magic is different. In this world, the spells are actual words, phrases, and even songs. Personally, I loved this part of this world because magical words are clearly a metaphor for the importance of words in general. The world and the magic was very entertaining to read about.

As for the characters? I’ve decided Rainbow Rowell can do no wrong when it comes to writing realistic looking characters and making me love them.

Image result for harry potter clapping gif

Even in this magical world, she continues to create characters like Penelope and Simon, who look completely normal despite their magic. She does that so well, and it’s one of the reasons why she is one of my favorite authors.

I did love Harry and Draco, oh wait sorry.

9g8om

I mean Simon and Baz and their love / hate relationship. It was just wonderful to see them become friends and eventually become more than that. It was just lovely, and again, Rowell knows how to write budding (and sometimes unexpected) romance. And just in case you’re wondering, I have soft spot my Vampire Baz.

That’s another thing, I liked about this version of Hogwarts.

Image result for oops i did it again gif

I meant Watford. The students’ seem to have a more diversity concerning magical creatures. There are vampires and mention of faeries and I would have loved to explore that side of this world.

One of the characters I found more interesting was Agatha because of her storyline. She’s a mage that rejects the magical world she was born into. I found that so interesting becaue most of the time I hear Harry Potter fans desperately wishing and waiting for their Hogwarts letter to come in the mail (too many years too late), and for once we have a character in a magical world that prefers human world. I want more of her story just as much as I want more of Simon and Baz.

The only negative thing I have to say is that the story starts out slow. For me, it didn’t pick up until part 2 of the story. While I loved the ending chapters, I didn’t particularly liked the climax of the story. Some of it didn’t make sense to me, and left me with more questions than answers, it felt unresolved although interesting. Which is why I’m giving it a rating of 4.5/5.

This is a big yes to this book, and Rainbow Rowell!

Image result for read it gif

Follow Me On: Instagram | Goodreads

6 thoughts on “Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I felt like I should like it for being like great harry potter fanfic, but I found it really frustrating that she essentially wrote the last book in a typical fantasy series and then had to keep infodumping about the previous years they’d been at school. A thing I enjoy about series like Harry Potter and Magisterium is that you get to follow the characters right through their magical school, book by book, so you can see them grow and change.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: July 2017 Update | The Reading Turtle Duck

Leave a Reply

